Wednesday, November 28, 2007

Halifax Regional Council is the governing body for the Halifax Regional Municipality in Nova Scotia.
In April 1996 the councils for the City of Halifax, City of Dartmouth, Town of Bedford, and Municipality of the County of Halifax were dissolved when those municipalities were amalgamated into the new Halifax Regional Municipality. The Halifax Regional Council was formed at the time of the HRM's incorporation and consists of twenty-three councillors and one mayor. Elections are held every four years on leap years. By-elections for council seats have been held in 1998, 1999, 2003 and 2006 after some regional councillors were elected to the provincial legislature.
An examination of boundaries took place throughout 2003/04 upon which there was a redistribution of districts. the 2004 municipal election saw the combination of two districts into one in Cole Harbour, as well as the creation of a new district in Clayton Park West.

Halifax Regional CouncilHalifax Regional Council Members

No comments: